Two local Catholic high school softball players who led their teams to 2018 divisional championships were named CIF-Southern Section Players of the Year.

Junior pitcher Tessa Magnanimo of Chaminade in West Hills (in Division 5) and sophomore infielder Lauryn Carter of Serra in Gardena (in Division 7) earned top honors. Coaches Gina Hairapetian of Chaminade and Calvin Spencer of Serra received Coach of the Year awards in Divisions 5 and 7, respectively.

Magnanimo recorded a 21-3 won-lost record with a 0.75 ERA and 239 strikeouts in 150 innings for Coach Hairapetian’s Eagles, who won the Mission League and their first CIF-SS crown since 2007. Magnanimo was the winning pitcher in Chaminade’s 5-3 title game win over J.W. North.

Carter slugged .690 with 7 home runs and 31 RBIs for Coach Spencer’s Cavaliers, leading the Santa Fe League champions to their first-ever CIF title. Pressed into relief in one game, Carter recorded a 9-out save to preserve the win.

Additionally, 17 Catholic school players were named to CIF-SS first teams, as selected by the CIF-SS Softball Coaches’ Committee and presented by the LA84 Foundation. They included sophomore outfielder Tiare Jennings of St. Anthony in Division 3, last year’s Division 6 POY as a freshman, who in 2018 hit .590 with 9 home runs after starring on the Saints’ volleyball team last fall.

Other selections were:

Division 1: Senior pitcher Paige Vargas of Santa Margarita and senior infielder Kelli Godin of Mater Dei.

Division 2: Junior catcher-infielder McKenzie Barbara of St. Joseph/Lakewood, who hit .554 with 11 home runs and 42 RBIs for the Jesters.

Division 3: Freshman pitcher Jordan King and sophomore infielder Tatum Anzaldo, St. Paul, and senior utility player Jordan Hinkle, Alemany.

Division 5: Sophomore pitcher Skylar Johnson, St. Joseph/Santa Maria; senior catcher Sarah Dady, Chaminade; and catcher-infielder Olivia O’Neal, La Reina.

Division 6: Mary Star of the Sea sophomores Alessandra Samperio, pitcher, and Ashley Rico, infielder.

Division 7: Sophomore pitcher Devin Waddell, Marymount; senior pitcher Victoria Royster and senior catcher Christina Rosas, San Gabriel Mission; freshman infielder Mykaila Fleming, Serra; and senior outfielder Madison Saunders, Santa Clara.