Following its Division 4 girls’ tennis title in 2018, Bishop Montgomery is now in Division 2 for 2019, based on the CIF-Southern Section divisional rankings for the season that begins Aug. 26.

The Knights’ championship — the first by any local Catholic school since St. Bonaventure won the Division IV title in 2002 — lifted them two divisions in the divisional ranking system that combines won-lost records, playoff performances and strength of schedule over the previous two seasons.

Altogether, 28 Catholic schools from the Los Angeles Archdiocese and Orange Diocese will compete in girls’ tennis this fall, among 371 schools broken into five divisions as follows:

  • Division 1 (40 schools): Chaminade, Mater Dei and Santa Margarita. 
  • Division 2 (39): Bishop Montgomery, J.Serra and Marymount. 
  • D-3 (72): Louisville, Mayfield, Notre Dame/Sherman Oaks, Rosary Academy and St. Lucy’s.
  • D-4 (84): Alemany, Flintridge Sacred Heart, La Reina, La Salle, Notre Dame Academy and St. Bonaventure.
  • D-5 (136): Bishop Amat, Bishop Diego, Cornelia Connelly, Immaculate Heart, Pomona Catholic, Providence/Burbank, Ramona Convent, Santa Clara, St. Joseph/Lakewood, St. Monica/Santa Monica and Villanova Prep.

Mike Nelson is the former editor of The Tidings (predecessor of Angelus News). 

Start your day with Always Forward, our award-winning e-newsletter. Get this smart, handpicked selection of the day’s top news, analysis, and opinion, delivered to your inbox. Sign up absolutely free today!