Divisional alignments have been established (for the most part) by the California Interscholastic-Southern Section for boys’ water polo and girls’ tennis, both of which begin regular season competition Aug. 21.

The first-pre-season polls in these sports will be announced later in August, and issued weekly thereafter.

Boys Water Polo

The top 27 water polo programs in the CIF Southern Section are based on power rankings calculated for this year’s playoff groupings. Throughout the 2017 season, results will be collected and a “watch list” established. The top 20 teams from this group will be published with the polls (the top 10 of those 20 representing the Division 1 “Watch List”).

Using power rankings and committee determination, the top 8 teams will be designated as the CIF-SS Playoff Division 1, and the remaining 19 teams as Division 2. Both divisions will be finalized during the last seeding meeting on Oct. 27, with the post-season scheduled to start Oct. 28.

The current division breakdown includes the following Catholic schools, with their league affiliation in parentheses (note that within each league are schools that may represent more than one division):

Divisions 1 & 2: Damien (Baseline); Loyola (Mission); Mater Dei and Santa Margarita (Trinity).

Division 3: Crespi and Notre Dame/Sherman Oaks (Mission); Servite (Trinity).

Division 4: J.Serra and St. John Bosco (Trinity).

Division 5: Alemany (Mission); Villanova Prep (Tri-Valley).

Division 6: St. Francis (Mission); Cathedral (Valle Vista).

Division 7: La Salle (Prep); St. Joseph/Santa Maria (Pac-8).

Girls Tennis

The following Catholic schools are participating in girls’ tennis, listed here by division that will determine classification for post-season competition that begins Oct. 30.

Division 1: Mater Dei, Notre Dame/Sherman Oaks, Santa Margarita.

Division 2:  J.Serra.

Division 3: Chaminade, Immaculate Heart, La Reina, Marymount, Mayfield, Rosary, St. Joseph/Santa Maria.

Division 4: Bishop Montgomery,  Flintridge Sacred Heart, Louisville, Notre Dame Academy, St. Lucy’s.

Division 5: Alemany, Bishop Amat, Bishop Diego, Connelly, La Salle, Pomona Catholic, Ramona Convent, Santa Clara, St. Bonaventure, St. Joseph/Lakewood, St. Monica/Santa Monica, Villanova Prep.