The gridiron, volleyball court and swimming pool were the sites of numerous accomplishments during the 2016 fall sports season by local Catholic school teams and athletes, with several accorded honors of excellence by CIF-Southern Section coaches.

Headlining last year’s selections in football were:

St. John Bosco senior linemen Wyatt Davis and Jacob Callier, named Division 1 Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, respectively, and coach Jason Negro, named D-1 Coach of the Year for the Braves’ CIF and state championship team.

Paraclete linebacker KJ Latu, Division 6 Defensive Player of the Year, and coach Dean Herrington, Coach of the Year, for the Spirits’ CIF champions and Division 3-AA state titlists.

In girls’ volleyball, Player and Coach of the Year honors went to:

Santa Margarita senior outside hitter Meghan McClure and coach Katy Daly for the Eagles’ Division 1 CIF champions.

St. Joseph/Lakewood senior setter Alexa Gallegos and coach Jeri Estes for the Jesters’ Division 3 CIF champions.

St. Anthony senior outside hitter Faa’aaliga Mikaele and coach Alicia Lemauu for the Saints’ Division 7 CIF champions.

And in boys’ water polo, Santa Margarita senior Brock Petersen and coach Jeremy Laster were named Division 2 Player and Coach of the Year, respectively, after leading the Eagles to the Division 2 championship. Santa Margarita juniors Noah Hodge and Chase Petersen earned first team honors.

In this third of a three-part “All Star Recap” of the year in Catholic high school sports, Angelus News presents a look at those student-athletes earning All-CIF honors in fall 2016 sports, as presented by the LA84 Foundation and selected by coaches.


In addition to those cited above, first team All-CIF honors last year included:

Division 1: St. John Bosco seniors Terrance Beasley, Tavita Moe, Terrell Bynum and Cross Poyer, and juniors Demetrious Flowers, Re-al Mitchell and Jaiden Woodbey; Mater Dei seniors Osiris St. Brown, Chase McGrath, Quentin Lake, Ryan Stonehouse, Austin Faoliu and Roman Kafentzis, juniors Tommy Brown, Christaphany Murray and Amon-Ra St. Brown, and sophomore JT Daniels; Chaminade senior Kyle Bilchik and junior Michael Wilson; Serra junior Merlin Robertson and sophomore Max Williams; and Bishop Amat junior Aaron Maldonado.

Division 2: St. Bonaventure’s Chuck Wick (junior) and Casey Roddick (senior), Notre Dame/Sherman Oaks’ Jordan Palmer (junior) and Khalid Taylor and Kylan Wilborn (seniors).

Division 3: Cathedral seniors Arex Flemings, Jamire Calvin and Hunter Echols, and junior Halid Djabril; St. Francis senior Daniel Scott.

Division 4: Damien seniors Brandon Burchfield and Ruben Contreras.

Division 5: Salesian senior Deommodore Lenoir and Bishop Diego junior Jack Luckhurst.

Division 6: Paraclete seniors Jamaal Bell, Bobby Brown, Tooni Ikahihifo, Brandon Smith and Aaron Cooper, juniors Pou Latu and Jaylin Tynes, and sophomore Henry Ikahihifo.

Division 7: St. Paul seniors Alfredo Reyes, David Salazar, Gabriel Bermudez and Anthony Lemus.

Division 9: La Salle senior Amon Milliner.

Division 10: St. Anthony seniors Talaun Patton, Nico Ragas, Mario DeLaura, Jacob Korban, Freddie Arroyo, Amitai Nieto and Ziggy Tua, and junior Noah Nieto.

Division 12: St. Genevieve seniors Darrious Gaines, Alex Rincan, Jordan Blackman, Raffi Titizian and Elijah Ebe.

8-Man Division 1: Villanova Prep’s Reagan Mang (junior) and Jack
rnKorzelius (senior).


Earning first team All-CIF honors last year were:               

Division 1: Santa Margarita’s Devon Chang (junior) and Juliana Reisinger (senior); Mater Dei’s Kelsey Campeau (junior) and Shannon Scully (senior); and Flintridge Sacred Heart’s Kayla Lund (senior).

Division 2: Camie Baril, Louisville junior.

Division 3: Sualua Pepe, St. Joseph/Lakewood junior; Sydney Hall, Bishop Montgomery senior; and Ella Boehle, Notre Dame Academy junior.

Division 5: Alemany’s Renee Wheeler (junior) and Annah Rivera (sophomore), and La Reina juniors Michelle Shaffer and Ava Hudson.

Division 7: St. Anthony senior Cairon Fido and freshman Isabella Bareford; St. Paul junior Hannah Tostada; and St. Monica senior Victoria Bachawati.

Division 8: Franki Piloto, Pomona Catholic junior; Ava Midkiff, Providence senior; Ally Spillane, Mary Star of the Sea senior.


In addition to Division 2 cited above, first team All-CIF honors last year included:

Division 1: Seniors Marko Vavic, Loyola, and Jackson Seybold, Mater Dei.

Division 4: Senior Eliott Bergerson, St. John Bosco, and junior Max Sprute, Notre Dame/Sherman Oaks.