The Loyola Marymount University Board of Trustees has unanimously elected Timothy Law Snyder, Ph.D., as the 16th president of the university after a nationwide search, effective June 1.

Previously, Snyder was vice president for academic affairs at Loyola University Maryland from 2007-2014. Snyder began his academic career at Georgetown University in 1987 and became dean of the College of Science before moving to Fairfield University as dean of the College of Arts and Sciences in 2001.

“Timothy Law Snyder is the best person to lead LMU forward,” said board chair Kathleen H. Aikenhead. “He has a long and distinguished career in Jesuit higher education as a teacher, scholar, dean and vice president, and has a passion for our mission of creating the well-rounded person within a rich academic community of excellence. We are grateful to have his experience and leadership.”

Snyder will replace President David W. Burcham, who announced in October 2014 that he would step down on May 31. He was named president of LMU in 2010 after serving as LMU’s interim president and provost, and prior to that, dean of Loyola Law School.

A native of Ohio, Snyder earned his Ph.D. and M.A. in applied and computational mathematics from Princeton University as well as a M.S. in mathematics, a B.A. in psychology and a B.S. in mathematics from the University of Toledo.