Three Catholic high schools — Mater Dei, Notre Dame/Sherman Oaks and Santa Margarita — are among the 40 Division 1 girls’ tennis teams for the 2018 season that opens Aug. 20.

Chaminade, the only Catholic school that ended the 2017 regular season ranked in a weekly top 10 CIF-Southern Section (sixth in Division 3), is in Division 2 in 2018, as is J.Serra. 

Other Catholic teams are placed in the following divisions:

Division 3: Flintridge Sacred Heart, Immaculate Heart, La Reina, Louisville, Marymount, Mayfield, Rosary and St. Lucy’s.

Division 4: Alemany and Bishop Montgomery.

Division 5: Bishop Amat, Bishop Diego, Cornelia Connelly, La Salle, Notre Dame Academy, Pomona Catholic, Providence/Burbank, Ramona Convent, Santa Clara, St. Bonaventure, St. Joseph/Lakewood, St. Monica/Santa Monica and Villanova Prep.

The 2017 league champions included Bishop Montgomery (Del Rey), Mayfield (Prep), Chaminade (Sunshine) and Santa Margarita (Trinity).