Fifteen girls’ basketball players from Catholic schools in the Los Angeles Archdiocese and Orange Diocese were named to the 2018 All CIF-Southern Section first teams.

The choices included two repeat selections from 2017: seniors Rebekah Obinma of Rosary Academy (in Division 1) and Julia Macabuhay of La Salle (in Division 3A). Obinma was also last year’s Player of the Year in Division 2AA, when Rosary won the CIF-SS 2AA title.

Macabuhay earned additional honors when she was named one of 12 prep basketball cagers from Southern California (six boys, six girls) to receive the 2018 John R. Wooden High School Player of the Year Award. The 5-foot-5 guard was the Division 3 girls’ selection after averaging 30 points a game in leading the Lancers deep into the CIF-SS playoffs, scoring 48 points in a win over Mission Prep and 33 in a narrow loss to top-seeded Oxford Academy.

The All CIF-SS Division 1 first team also included seniors Jasmine Hardy of Alemany and junior Leslie Hunter of Chaminade, while sophomore Alex Iemsisamth of J.Serra made the Division 2AA squad.

Underclassmen also were prominent on the Open Division first team. Juniors Alexis Tucker of Serra’s state champions and Kayla Padilla of Bishop Montgomery were joined by freshman Brooke Demetre of Mater Dei. Another freshman, Melissa Zozulenko of Providence (Burbank), made the D-4A first team.

Other first team selections were senior Brittany Van Buren of St. Bonaventure (D-4AA); senior Natalie Maldonado and sophomore Maddison Rakestraw of Santa Clara (D-5AAA); and seniors Hanalei Emnace of Mary Star of the Sea and Natalie Whiting of Bishop Diego, and junior Natalia Gutierrez of St. Pius X-St. Matthias (D-5AA).

Hardy, Tucker, Padilla, Van Buren and Emnace were All-CIF second team choices in 2017, as selected by the Southern California Interscholastic Basketball Coaches Assn. in conjunction with the CIF-SS, and presented by the LA84 Foundation.